The Ohio CCW Law requires that you attend a CCW class and obtain a certificate before you can complete the application for the actual permit. The class has to be a total of 8 hours in length and 2 of those hours must be range time. The other 6 hours will be made up of class time. Once you satifactorily complete a written practical and a shooting practical, you will receive a certificate that you take with you to your local Sheriff’s Department and apply for your permit. The Ohio State Law permits the issuing agency to charge you $67.00 for the application process and issuance of the permit. Make sure that you take a 2×2 color photo of yourself with your application before arriving at the issuing agency. There are several phone apps that you can download for free that will take a “passport” type photo.
As of March 23, 2015 Ohio has a Reciprocity Agreement with all but the following States:
No Agreement with-
CA, OR, ME, NY, VA, HI, MA, CT, RI, NJ, MD
Please check here for the most current information:
The law can be found by searching for the Ohio Revised Code 109.69 Reciprocity agreement.